This department is in the French Alps. Most of the department consists of mountains, and there is only three towns of any size – Gap, Briancon and Embrun. Gap is by far the biggest city and also the capital of Hautes-Alpes.

Hautes-Alpes sees a lot of winter tourists coming to ski in the wonderful slopes. In summer hiking is popular and Tour de France usually goes through this department.